Our patron, board and staff


Helen Clark

Rt Hon Helen Clarke ONZ SSI PC

Former New Zealand Prime Minister and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme



Chair:  Emeritus Professor Robert Beaglehole

independent global public health practitioner.


Board members

  • Mihi Blair, General Manager of the National Tobacco Control Advisory Service at Hāpai Te Hauora.

  • Dr Stephen Child, General physician with respiratory interest, elected to the Medical Council of New Zealand and past Chair of the NZ Medical Association.

  • Dr Gerry Devlin, Cardiologist and Medical Director of the Heart Foundation.

  • Rebecca Ruwhiu-Collins, Māori Hauora expert in treatment, national training for tobacco addiction and community mobilisation and development at Hāpai Te Hauora.

  • Associate Professor Collin Tukuitonga, Associate Dean Pacific at the University of Auckland's Health and Medical Sciences faculty and government appointee to the Health Quality & Safety Commission Board.

  • Dr Grace Wong, Director, Smokefree Nurses Aotearoa/New Zealand 



Director: Deborah Hart, former lawyer, Human Rights Review Tribunal Panel member.

Policy Advisor:  Ben Youdan

Researcher:  Sally Wong

Administration Assistant:  Sana Nuuaea Nouata